HELP
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Access>Users

Extensive features are available on the Access>Users page for managing authentication and access to the network. Authentication can be performed using a local user database, RADIUS, or a combination of the two applications. Currently, when a VPN tunnel is established between two SonicWALL appliances, any users residing on the local LAN of each SonicWALL can send data across the VPN. In some cases, complete user access could be a security risk, and only authenticated users access the VPN tunnel and send data across the network.

Global User Settings

Users

Alert! By enabling Remote Access, you allow unencrypted traffic over the Internet.

Tip! The SonicWALL supports up to 100 users requiring RADIUS authentication in the local database.

Adding and Removing a User

Alert! You must add a user to the Local Database to enforce access privileges.

To add a new user, complete the following steps.

  1. Highlight -Add New User- in the Current User list box.

  2. Enter the name of a user into the User Name field.

  3. Enter the user password in the Password and Confirm Password field. The password is case-sensitive.

  4. Choose the privileges to be enabled for the user by selecting the appropriate check boxes.

  5. Click Update to add the user to the SonicWALL database.

  6. To remove a user, highlight the User Name, and click Remove User.

Current Users

A list of all current users is displayed in a table at the bottom of the page. The Current Users table lists the User Name, the IP Address of the user, the Session Time, Time Remaining of the session, and the Inactivity Remaining time.

Users Currently Locked Out After Login Failures

A list of current users locked after failing to log into the SonicWALL correctly is displayed in this section. The table lists the User Name Tried, the IP Address, Lockout Time Remaining, and an Unlock icon. The Unlock icon is used by the Administrator to allow the user access to the SonicWALL. Click the icon to enable access for the user.

User Login

When a user other than the administrator logs into the SonicWALL Management interface, a page is displayed with the user’s privileges listed. The user can set the maximum time for a login session, but it cannot be longer than the session time set by the administrator. The connection closes when the user exceeds the inactivity time-out period or the maximum session time is exceeded. If the connection is closed, the user must re-authenticate to regain their access through the SonicWALL.

Logging into the SonicWALL as the administrator automatically gives the user access to all VPN tunnels requiring authentication.

Tip! Authentication sessions create a log entry in the SonicWALL, but user activity is not logged.

Help Table of Contents